Erlangen - Beijing July 30th - August 30th 2009

The first Vintage Volkswagen Challenge from Germany to China

Start Ziel

Reiseroute

Unser Käfer-Abenteuer startet am 30.Juli 09 in Erlangen und führt uns zunächst nach Polen, vorbei an Warschau, der Stadt an den Ufern der Weichsel, weiter nach Vilnius in Litauen bis zur Grenze Lettland-Russland. Hier reisen wir ein ins Land der Zaren und erreichen Moskau, die größte Stadt Europas. Wir folgen der Route weiter nach Kazan, der Tartarenstadt an den ersten Ausläufern des Urals. Weiter geht`s nach Perm, der östlichsten Stadt Europas und nach Ekatarinburg, Hauptstadt des Ural, das mit seinem gleichnamigen Gebirge Europa und Asien von einander trennt. „Ab nach Sibirien“! Vorbei an Omsk folgen wir der Straße weiter ins Zentrum Sibiriens – den Städten Novosibirsk und Krasnoyarsk. Von hier aus führt uns der Weg ins „Paris des Ostens“, nach Irkutsk, am Südufer des Baikalsees, dem tiefsten See der Welt. Auf den Spuren Dschingis Khans reisen wir weiter durch das Land der kühnen Reiter, der Mongolei, bis zur Hauptstadt Ulan Bator. „Ab in die Wüste“ Wir durchqueren „Die Gobi“ in Zentralasien bis zur Grenze zwischen der Inneren Mongolei und China. Vorbei an der Millionenstadt Datong in der chinesischen Provinz Shanxi nähern wir uns langsam unserem Ziel. Doch vorher legen wir noch einen Zwischenstopp an der Großen Mauer ein, dem Wahrzeichen der Volksrepublik China. Nach rund 11.000km erreichen wir am 30.August 09 unser Ziel, die Deutsche Botschaft in Peking.

Strecke der Käfer Rallye 2009

Idee

Das Zuhause aller Teilnehmer sowie der VW Käfer ist Deutschland. Wir fahren ausschließlich alte Käfer aus der Nachkriegszeit. Diese sind ein Symbol für Ausdauer, Qualität und Mobilität. Der älteste teilnehmende Käfer wurde 1949 gefertigt, dem Jahr, welches gleichzeitig das Gründerjahr der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und der Volksrepublik China ist. Unser gesamtes Team möchte auf unkonventionelle Art die Jubiläen beider Länder mit einer Ikone, der deutschen Ikone überhaupt, verbinden: dem VW Käfer.

Seit vier Jahren ist China das zweite Zuhause des Rallye Organisators. Vier weitere Teilnehmer lebten ebenso über mehrere Jahre in China, lernten das Land kennen und schätzen ihre Bewohner und deren Mentalität sehr.

Motivation

In Zeiten von Viel – und Langstreckenfliegerei verlieren wir alle das Gefühl für Zeit und Raum. Mit dieser ersten Vintage Volkswagen Challenge 2009 möchten wir das Gefühl der Ursprünglichkeit des Reisens wieder entdecken und neu erleben.

Erlangen - Beijing July 30th - August 30th 2009

The first Vintage Volkswagen Challenge from Germany to China

Start Finish Line

Route

Our VW beetle adventure starts on the 30th of July 2009 in Erlangen. The first part of our long trip takes us to Poland, we pass by Warsaw – the city on the banks of the Weichsel River – further on to Vilnius in Lithuania and then to Latvia where we cross the border into Russia, the land of the Tsars. Our journey takes us to Moscow, the largest city in Europe. We follow the route on toward Kazan, the tartar city at the first foothills of the Ural Mountains. From there, we travel on to Perm, the most eastern city in Europe and then to Yekaterinburg, capital of the Ural. The mountain range with the same name also separates Europe and Asia. “Siberia here we come!” We drive eastward on to Siberia – passing through Omsk – following the road to the center of Siberia – the cities of Novosibirsk and Krasnoyarsk. From here, our route takes us to Irkutsk, the “Paris of the East”. This is located on the southern bank of Lake Baikal, which is the deepest lake in the world. Following the tracks of Genghis Khan, we travel onward to Mongolia – the country of the courageous horsemen – to the capital Ulan Bator. “Desert bound” – we cross the Gobi desert in central Asia and arrive at the border between Inner Mongolia and China. Skirting the city of Datong – a city of millions – in the Chinese Province of Shanxi, we slowly approach our final destination. However, we make a brief stop at the Great Wall – the symbol of the People’s Republic of China. On the 30th of August 2009 with approximately 11,000 kilometers behind us, we reach our final destination, the German Embassy in Beijing.

Strecke der Käfer Rallye 2009

Idea

Germany is the home of all of the participants in the rally and the VW beetles. Without any exceptions, we all drive old VW beetles from the post war period. These symbolize durability, quality and mobility. The oldest beetle in the team rolled off the assembly line back in 1949, which is the same year that the Republic of Germany and the People’s Republic of China were founded. Our team wishes to link the anniversaries of both countries in an unconventional way with an icon – in fact, the German icon above all, the VW beetle.
For four years now, China has been the second home of the person who is organizing the rally. In addition to him, four other participants also lived in China for several years, where they got to know the country and hold its people and their culture in high esteem.

Motivation

In the era of frequent fliers and long-haul flights, we are all losing the feeling for time and space. With this first Vintage Volkswagen Challenge 2009, we want to rediscover and re-live the spirit of traveling.